Sunday, Jan. 02, 2005 | 10:47 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

New Year Reflections

Our New Year's Eve celebration was, in true hedonist tradition, fabulous fun. The price for hedonist celebrations, however, is a headache and/or queasy stomach, and that's how I spent most of yesterday. Still, it was a worthy price to pay; I had a great time. I am now thoroughly convinced that Deeda's backyard contains a vortex of some sort because time simply disappears when we are back there. After a nice drumming session and talk around the fire, we were all ready to come in and play another game... until we looked at the clock in the kitchen and found it was -- gulp! -- 4 AM! We immediately scattered like bugs, scurrying for bed. If it weren't for the babies, it might not have been so bad, but babies have no regard for parents who stay up late, so we scrounged for what sleep we could get.

Stand-out events: soundly beating the men in a game of Cranium; Jeff ripping the leg of his Jesus/Sting suit while engaged in some sort of illicit activity in Deeda and Brieuse's garage with Deeda; drumming; spending more time with Kanvas and Carlos; appreciating Left of the Dial with Willow; Jeff creating some kind of last minute biathalon in order to retrieve his fireworks; the fire spell at midnight.

The only shadow on the night, for me, was that we had some friends hang out with us for the first time and we were rather... rambunctious. Excessively so, and while it was fun, we are not usually that extreme. It was a little overwhelming for them, I think. So we need to have them over for a "regular" gathering, which is still fun and slightly hedonistic, but not so intense. I have some things to reflect on as I did see things from their eyes a few times that night and then again yesterday, and that's never a bad thing.

I've been reading all the 2004 reviews in everyone else's blogs... I don't know if I want to review the year. Rewind it, maybe, but review it? Maybe I'll give in later. For this year, I'm breaking with my five or six year trend and making a very cliched resolution -- I am going to finish Project Healthy Body this year. I've gotten a little off-track since we've moved. And I've spent most of the holidays trying to fill the hole Jasmine left with food. I ate and ate and ate, and all I got for it were a few extra pounds. Still sad, still grieving, the hole cannot be filled. I came to my senses and realized this is what I've been doing about two weeks ago. It's time to stop. My oldest coping mechanism really isn't helping me in any way.

The other resolution is to spend money more wisely this year. This is partially driven by practicality -- we just don't have that much left to waste -- but also, handling money well is a lifelong struggle and this year I'm going to get on top of it.

Finally, supporting Jeff while he starts his career. He has taken the steps to find a career coach, has kept appointments even when not feeling well, and has maintained his focus on a particular career. As long as he keeps taking these steps on his own, I'm backing him up. I am truly filled with joy that he is starting to stretch into the person I've always seen squooshed inside of him.

I also have my spiritual program mapped out for the year, so it will be a pretty full year for me. Continuing to work through Jasmine's grief will of course, be part of everything, and whatever else the universe decides to throw my way. In my life I have learned that setting goals and making resolutions is a great pastime, but that often life has other plans.


More housekeeping -- for those of you DiaryLanders who want to follow my spiritual journal, but who forget to check The Fire Spiral, I'm going to cross-post those entries here at DiaryLand. Add magickyear to your buddy list. Also, any Reclaiming Witch Diarylanders -- I started a diaryring called "Reclaiming" -- sign up, if you're so inclined!

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 2 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here