Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005 | 10:36 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

How Not to Cook Dinner, or, Be Sure to Read Carefully

Day before yesterday, we were waiting in line at the grocery store and "Cooking Light" magazine caught my eye. There was a recipe for french onion soup that looked good, so I bought a copy and brought it home. Paging through, I noticed some excellent recipes for chicken, some of which I already had ingredients for (or so I thought), so I planned the next night's dinner from one of them (this would be last night's dinner).

I'm cooking up my cider bacon chicken, amazed at how easy the recipe is, congratulating myself on having all the ingredients on hand... then I dumped in the chicken broth and apple cider vinegar for the sauce. And promptly grabbed a napkin for my watering eyes. "It'll get better," I thought, "When it cooks down." Gabrielle immediately started complaining loudly and obnoxiously about the smell. Silently I agreed with her, but all the noise she was making about it quickly got on my nerves.

So there I was, stirring my stinky sauce, Gab caterwauling in the background about the horrible smell, Jeff trying to shut her up because he could see my shoulders starting to by-pass my chin, wafting through the steam whistling out my ears... and it occurred to me to check the recipe. Guess what I found? The apple cider vinegar (which was, of course, the source of the eye-watering pungent-ness) was supposed to be simply... apple cider. Woo, what a difference some vinegar makes! Into the garbage disposal with the sauce, which fortunately was made separately from the chicken.

The smell is still lingering this morning.

The lesson? Don't skim recipes, folks. Read them carefully. And if it smells really bad, re-read them. Or better yet, have your complaining nine-year-old read it for you. ::sigh::

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 8 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here