Saturday, Mar. 05, 2005 | 2:26 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

What Keeps You Blogging?

I've been browsing Diaryland these last few days, compliments of banners and buddies' buddy lists. I've added some new buddies, some of whom I've heard good things about for a long time and some of whom I just liked when I clicked. I hope no one minds -- please let me know if you do!

I ran some banners -- haven't done that in awhile. I should probably make some new ones, but I've been amazed by the clicks I've had. I think there must not be a lot of banners running right now if I look appealing. ::smirk:: Thanks much to those of you who clicked and left a comment or note.

It's an interesting community we have here at Diaryland, isn't it? I mean seriously, I've "met" people here who have become part of my support network, even though I've yet to actually see in person anyone I met through DL. That should soon change, shouldn't it, anonadada72? I find myself going through blogs and buddy lists of talented people, recognizing that there are cliques of a sort on Diaryland and people who transcend the cliques to end up on varied buddy lists. In a sense it is like high school for me -- I want the people I admire to see me, to appreciate me too and feel a little sad when they don't. Even writing that feels a little immature, but it's honest.

I fully appreciate that we only see a small piece of the blogger here -- some pieces smaller or larger than others -- but there are some people I would so love to meet in person. Then I think about the stories I've read about writers who met with fans and the fans were let down because the writer wasn't all they thought s/he would be. Blogs are a bit different though, aren't they? In theory, anyway.

I've experienced the writer side of the let down to some extent by people who met me after reading The Fire Spiral. I thought you'd be more "witchy," they say, meaning I didn't fit the image my writing conjured (ha - no pun intended) for them. I often wonder what that image is. Who do you see when you read my writing? I think I've posted a few pictures here, but I wonder. I have had a few people read my blog and really nail me as a person -- see things I thought were invisible or filtered out. That's always a little startling.

Anyway, I'd love to hear your experience of the community at Diaryland. Have you met folks through their blogs -- in person, I mean? And are people met or unmet part of your community, your support? What keeps you blogging?

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 4 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here