Saturday, Aug. 27, 2005 | 10:23 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Buddhist Reflections

There are two things I stumble on in Buddhism. The first noble truth is one -- that all life is suffering. I can just get a grip on the concept and then it slips out of my mind's grasp. It feels so bleak to look at the world that way. The other is one of the five precepts -- to avoid sensual overindulgence. That just doesn't jive with the Dionysian in me. For that matter, I suppose on some level that is the part of me that trips me with the first noble truth. My heart wants the Dionysian perspective -- to find that life is joy and ecstasy, to find spirit in sensuality. What defines suffering? What is sensual overindulgence? Because my heart also senses the truth in those things, but still I wrestle. Any perspectives out there?

I'm going to begin my sitting practice today.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 0 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here