Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005 | 9:38 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Twists & Turns

The air on the way to work today was awful -- the smog was trapped like a nasty bed fart and the air was thick. I wished for rain to clean it away and it felt sort of metaphoric. A gray morning, sort of cruddy and viscous -- like snot, to continue with my disgusting metaphor.

I plodded through the day, the high point being almost finishing Good in Bed at lunch. It was so well-written, I felt like I had fallen asleep and dreamed my lunch break away. I literally walked back to work trying to clear the fog and looked forward to the end of the day, when I could finish the last few pages. Good thing I was wearing sunglasses while I read -- if you've read the book, you might recall why. A book review is forthcoming.

Then, when it was time to go home, I slowly made my way across the lawn towards the parking structure. There is a small planter with about six or eight rose bushes trying valiantly to grow in the heat, to lend some color to the bermuda grass monotony. The bushes have maybe one or two bruised blooms each, the flowers so tired looking that I haven't even had the heart to stop and smell them. They just looked too worn out to share something as precious as scent. And still, this evening, when I walked by, they sent out a little waft of luscious rose to greet me. Startled, I jerked my head that way and then smiled hello. I felt a little brighter. Roses lately -- what's with that? I didn't write about the random act of kindness that involved a rose the other day, but it bears considering, I think.

Anyway, I got on my way and headed to class... only to have the instructor stagger in with a migraine, which I am super-sympathetic to. Class was cancelled and we're just picking up where we leave off next week, which means I have no homework. Yay! And better still, when I stepped outside, I was just in time for a fleeting -- and gorgeous -- sunset. The product of the yucky air and clouds, but it was beautiful.

The lessons of the book were in bloom around me, literally. I told J this weekend that I didn't think it was an accident that I picked that book to read just now. The ending was very powerful and more so against the backdrop of this weekend's activities. I'll write more about that later...

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 3 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here