Saturday, Aug. 07, 2004 | 8:20 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

The Pessimistic Mover

Jeff is being Norm Negative about getting out of here on Monday morning. He is convinced it won't happen, despite the very excellent efforts of our friends who showed up last night and helped us pack a very good portion of the house. We are planning to come back to Bloomington in late September so we can speak at this year's CF walk, but -- okay, here's how fried my brain is. After looking, unsuccessfully, for the link to this year's Great Strides walk, I completely forgot what I was going to say. Not only does moving encourage insanity, it also kills brain cells better than the highest grade of marijuana.

So where was I? Oh yeah... Jeff is freaking out about the move. Our biggest obstacle to getting things done has been Nina, who, because she realizes Something Big is going down, has decided to pick these last few weeks to be clingy. She has also elected to see just how few hours of sleep she needs to maximize her irritability factor. So basically, I'm useless because Nina requires more attention right now than she did when she was a newborn. I find myself wondering how long the psychological damage would last if we let her spend a few days locked up in the closet. It couldn't be that long, right? Right? [Insert Jeff's Contagious Hysteria Here] ::sigh:: Of course we're not going to put her in the closet. I'm just pretty close to having exhausted my supply of parental compassion and understanding.

Anyway, despite Jeff's attack of the panicky variety, I think we're going to get out of here on Monday just fine. We may have to leave some things in our garage, and that being the case, we are considering leaving Jeff's truck so we have a way to tow a trailer when we come back to get that stuff. Maybe that's what I was getting ready to say in my first paragraph. Who knows?

Our friends who came to our rescue last night were very helpful; many boxes were packed and many heavy items heaved. Once again I am aware of what a great community we have here and how much I am going to miss it. I find that the older I get, the fewer friends I make, but the more solid and important the friendships.



Here's what Jewel thinks of all this moving business. Note that Jewel looks cute, while a president's daughter just looks like a spoiled brat.


And here's how Nina "helps". Note the pretzels she's pictured stuffing in her mouth and the brilliant arrangement she's created on our living room floor. All the world's a canvas for Nina's artistic expression, right? So what if her medium is pretzels? Who cares if Mama and Dada are TRYING TO CLEAN THE LIVING ROOM?!



Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 3 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here