Sunday, Aug. 22, 2004 | 7:52 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

"Mom, Can I Go to the Movies?"

Brownie points and admiration to Marcy, who guessed that yesterday's song was "Walking Contradiction" by Green Day. So... are you actually a fan, or did you just do an internet search on the lyrics?? I love Green Day. I find it impossible to listen to their music and stay in a bad mood of any type.

So, yeah, Rosie came back last night. Jeff said he thought he had seen her the night before, in the middle of the night, but that he wasn't sure. Last night, she and Jewel had some kind of rendezvous at the window, and he managed to get our freaked out little kitty back in the house by luring her with the food dish. She is now back in the house, safe and sound, and won't have chance to escape again. And so much for Jeff's theory that the cat won't go more than two steps outside the door. I hate to say "I told you so, Jeff, but..." Oh, the giddy tartness of not having to go through more mourning with Gab.

I went to see Collateral last night with D&B. It started with a phone call from D, asking if I wanted to go see a movie. In a very hilarious flashback moment, I cupped my hand over the phone and said, in a somewhat pleading tone, "Mom, can I go to the movies?" Then I started laughing hysterically, because I don't think I've said that to my mom in about 17 years. I was asking, specifically, if she would watch the kids when I went to the movies, but it didn't come out that way.

I'm lucky I made it to the theater after my illegal use of the word "jog," as in, "the road jogs here." Seems B likes to use archaic expressions like "jog" in sentences... and unfortunately, so do I. Like foci. Anyway, it must be an English lit thing. Nice to know I have company in my nerdiness. I was famous in high school for using words of more than two syllables that caused people to stare at me uncomprehendingly, as if I had just opened my mouth and let loose with a stream of Aramaic, or something.

The movie was interesting. I had no expectations -- I really only went to see it because Tom Cruise was in it, looking like he had an unfortunate mishap with a Christmas tree flocking machine. The man has made a believer of me in terms of his acting ability, and I'll give most movies he's in a chance. I didn't even know what the plot was. So it was a little slow in the beginning, but it picked up when the two main characters finally met. I thought the dialogue was well written, clever, and both Jamie Foxx and Tom Cruise did a great job acting, which didn't surprise me in the case of Cruise, but did surprise me once I figured out who Foxx was. I didn't realize the movie was directed by Michael Mann, either, and there was a definite Miami Vice moment in the film, with a song played full-length and sort of obtrusively. At the time, I sort of sniggered, thinking, "This person watched too many episodes of Miami Vice. And then at the end, I realized that yes, indeed, not only had he watched too many episodes of Miami Vice, he had indeed created it, at least in the sense of the look and feel. The ending had some surreal ties to Bladerunner, and I don't want to give it away for anyone who sees it, but it gave me something to think about while trying to fall asleep last night.

Today's "guess the lyrics":

And I have seen sadness
And I have seen time run out
I've even seen men cry
It's all lost to me now
Like tears in the rain

Yes, it's actually in a song... and I'll give you a hint -- the person singing this song was a one-hit-wonder New Wave artist. That should narrow it down, eh? Bwa ha ha ha ha ha!!!

I'm still ruminating -- masticating, maybe -- on that judging the judge thing. Another factor... the difference between judgement and discernment. Placing value and simply noticing difference...

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 1 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here