Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004 | 9:06 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Jeez, THAT Was a Depressing Little Entry

Yesterday was a great mail day. Our new bank/check cards came, but more importantly, our voter registration cards came. Whew! I was worried that some wire had gotten crossed.

Silly that I would be so worried about something most people don't bother with. I have recently been reading lots of emails, journals, etc. and it looks like Kerry has something going wrong with his campaign. People are irritated with him for playing Bush's game of nastiness or they're completely not engaged by him. I worry these people will either ultimately not care enough to vote, or they'll vote for another candidate. I'm not sure what needs to be done, but something does.

Some days I wish there could be a ban on media coverage, that people would actually have to maybe go down to the party headquarters to get their information, or better yet, participate in meetings where candidates or their representatives would give information and answer questions. But I fear we as a nation are too connected to our televisions, even to our print media, to actually acquire information from the source and form our own opinions, free of the spin. And I know if most voters had to be active seekers of information, rather than passive tv watchers, they simply wouldn't vote. Or they'd vote even less thoughtfully than they do now, because they wouldn't want to do the work of actually finding out about a candidate. ::shudder:: Like we need more party line voters right now. I'm praying that the ranks of disaffected Republicans continue to swell (and vote for Kerry).

I am amazed sometimes that we are still sucked in by "do as I say, not as I do," or even, "pay no attention to the man behind the curtain." Some days I'm not even so sure there is such a thing as the better candidate, but I do know this. Bush has had four years to show what kind of leader he is, and he has. And I don't like it. So on Election Day, I will cast my vote for Kerry because at this point, the unknown is less scary than the known.

By the by, I'm not the kind of person who decides she doesn't like a politician and then hates them no matter what kind of good they do. I didn't like Clinton when he first came into office. I was even interviewed for a spot on the evening news wherein I challenged Clinton to "put his actions where his rhetoric is." But he managed to show me, over the next eight years, that he was a good leader. He fixed a lot of economic CRAP left to him by the Republicans. And I didn't have to worry about my civil rights. And Bush hasn't done a stinking thing to change my mind -- instead, he confirmed all my worst fears.

I need to remind myself, again, why I'm voting for Kerry. Maybe that can be my project of the day. Behind the millions of others.

Completely unrelated aside, ignore at will: Oh, and Jeff? Clock's ticking. You have four weeks left. Then I get to write my business plan. Tick tock.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 2 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here