Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2004 | 12:03 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Operation Healthy Body Back on Track

Okay, so I worked out today at the gym for about an hour and a half, most of that with weights. I got in 15 minutes of cardio, which I will increase the next time by five minutes, and so on until I reach 45 minutes.

I also started Weight Watchers Core Points program, which is new enough to keep my interest and permissive enough that I can actually do it. It's like Phase 2 of the South Beach Diet, basically, except that it allows for a certain amount of "free eating" (or in my case, drinking of the grape) each week. Very doable in the long term for me.

I checked out the belly dance studio last night and I'm going to start classes there when I get back from camp. At that point, Deeda can join me, and I'll need all the help I can get to overcome some of my body issues. I wish Cedar were here too -- then it would be perfect. We could be our own little mini-troupe.

I had a funny experience in the weight room. I was sharing my workout that I built with Juli back in Bloomington, showing Deeda the form and the moves, etc. Like me, she's logged plenty of hours in the gym, so she pretty much knew what I was doing, but there was another woman in there watching us, and she asked me if I were a personal trainer. I barely managed to keep myself from looking pointedly down at my body and asking, "Do I look like a personal trainer?" It's not that I was bothered by her question, but just that I have such a dim view of my body that I was kind of surprised she asked. I explained that I wasn't, but that I had worked with one. She asked several more questions, which I answered. I mean, I've been involved with educating myself about fitness for about 20 years, so I do have some information to impart, even if my body isn't the best billboard. It was flattering, and a good reminder that part of the reason I like the gym is that I know what I'm doing there. And it was nice to be asked to share some of that information.

Anyway, I just wanted to follow up yesterday's post with what I did about it -- what a freaking wake-up call. Yes, LA, definitely all about comfort eating, but boy, does that have to stop. Now that we're close to weaning Nina, there are definitely other things I can do to "feed" myself (pun intended) that don't involve literally feeding myself.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 3 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here