Friday, Nov. 26, 2004 | 9:43 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Why Lady Avalon (aka ladyavalon42 at LiveJournal) Rocks

In response to this meme:

ladyavalon42 and I have known each other longer than almost everyone who reads this. We met right before Jeff and I got married, about thirteen years ago, when we briefly worked at the same bookstore, hit it off and the rest is... you know.

So why have ladyavalon42 and I been friends so long? That's the question, isn't it?

ladyavalon42 is one of the most loving, giving people I know. As a mom, her children are always #1 priority, and they are beautiful, smart, free-spirited examples of what having such a great mom does for a child. What you should really know is that ladyavalon42 has figured out how to be this kind of mom pretty much on her own. Oh, she has a great partner, sure... but you know, I think she'd still be a great mom even if she were on her own. I wonder how often she gives herself a pat on the back for that.

When Jasmine died, ladyavalon42 was one of the people who came from far away to support me. She brought her daughter, who was about four months older than Jasmine, and her daughter spoke at Jasmine's service. It was her voice that brought many people to tears, her memories of she and Jasmine as children. As ladyavalon42's daughter stood up there, I was moved by such a fusion of her parents -- the compassion, the intelligence and the presence in a room full of strangers. ladyavalon42 let no one take away from you that you are one of the best parents I know. Your light shines through your daughters' eyes.

ladyavalon42's caring for children doesn't end at home. When she entered college, her eye was on photography. (And she's no slouch in that department, either.) She pretty quickly realized that her true calling was in working with children and I learned a lot about her as I watched her finish her degree, enter the workforce, and then finish a Master's degree as well. There were several challenges to this obstacle -- if you knew her story the way I do, you would truly grasp what a strong and amazing person ladyavalon42 is. The rivers she has crossed are many and varied... ladyavalon42 is absolutely a survivor -- more than that. She is truly inspiring to me.

In fact, one of the things I most admire about ladyavalon42 is her ability to rise above, but not by climbing on top of someone else. She rises above with compassion, caring, and tough love. ladyavalon42 has fought hard to set boundaries and I've never seen anyone so willing to "go there" for the people she loves, even when going there is hard and painful. Again, ladyavalon42, your courage is inspiring. There are things you have said and done that really need to be said and done in my own family, and I've yet to have the courage or the moment.

Let's see, what other wonderful things can I share about ladyavalon42? Oh yes! She is, as a visit to her journal will tell you, a home improvement goddess. You want to know how to install flooring? She's got you covered? Want to put in some new lighting in your dining room? Ask ladyavalon42. Paint? Re-facing a fireplace? Honestly, I think ladyavalon42 rivals Jeff in her knowledge of tools and the hardware store, and that's saying something. She is VERY crafty.

Also? GREAT photographer. I don't think she's able to give that the same attention she used to, but she is quite skilled in conveying a feeling with an image.

It's hard to draw the line, actually, because much of what I know about her comes from the years we've known each other and NOT from reading her journal (though that has been an education as well ::grin::). ladyavalon42 is one of the most intelligent, inspiring, loving, fabulous, wonderful people I know. I am LUCKY to have her as a friend and feel that one of the blessings Jasmine left is that ladyavalon42 and I are back in regular contact, and maybe closer than we were before, despite our distance.

And those are just a very few reasons why ladyavalon42 ROCKS...

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 2 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here