Saturday, Nov. 27, 2004 | 10:09 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Why Willow Rocks

In response to this meme:

In my profile, the comment after willow-rain's entry says, "sometimes you just meet the right person at the right time..." and that is exactly how I feel about her.

When we were getting ready to move back to Arizona, I knew I wanted to start a Reclaiming community. I was really afraid Deeda and I would be alone in this endeavor, but it didn't matter. I wanted to do it. So I started reaching out to friends in the Southwest and found that there was already a Reclaiming Witch down in Tucson -- willow-rain, a transplant from the Portland Reclaiming community. I was cautious, but excited. I trusted the mutual friend, but still... sometimes this witchy world can be rough navigating. Imagine my surprise when I met her and she was a "normal" just like Deeda and I! Now normal is, of course, highly subjective, and what it really means is... a lot like Deeda and I. Serious about her spiritual path, living firmly in the real world. Even better, willow-rain was going to the same camp as me, and we agreed to carpool.

As if witchcamp itself isn't a bonding-enough experience, willow-rain and I shared a cabin and 28 hours (give or take) in a car. We got to know each other better -- I think past the point of acquaintance and into the realm of friends. Even though we've only technically "known" each other a few months, I feel pretty comfortable writing this piece about her.

Here's what I love about willow-rain:

Her musical tastes -- oh finally, finally! Someone who loves the same music I do, knows way more than me and gets the same rush I do from listening to a kickass song. I am beyond seventh heaven that willow-rain shares this. I have been so alone!

Her very straightforward way of dealing with people. I already know that if I ask willow-rain something, she's going to tell me absolutely the truth and I love that. I love that she's not afraid to "go there" on just about any topic I've raised and that she knows her own mind and truth and is willing to share it.

Her spiritual path -- it's similar to mine, but she's done training I haven't. I love how she shares her work and how honest she is about her growing edge.

She is cautious -- particularly in relation to community. Sometimes I get so carried away with enthusiasm, I want to do everything right now. I love that willow-rain isn't afraid to put on the brakes if they need to be applied. This is also good considering our current business endeavor, which is still in the planning stages.

Our complementary skills -- I love that we click together like pieces of a puzzle. I have skills and experiences that fit right into the holes of her skills and experiences and vice versa. I get giddy even thinking about exploring it.

Her sense of humor -- it's dark, like mine. Who else would think of throwing an Edward Gorey birthday party for her four-year-old?

Her boundaries. This is probably close to her straightforwardness, but I love that her boundaries are very defined and that she holds them well, and with compassion. I had a chance to really experience this at camp and I was inspired. (I'm inspired by a lot of my friends, I'm noticing. Seems to be a thread...)

Her commitment to sustainable consumerism. I need someone like this in my life to remind me to always review my own choices.

Her connection to the fey world -- she has shared some insights about Jasmine and some other things that have been very helpful and sort of otherworldly. I appreciate that while she's very grounded, she also really explores other realms of existence.

The way she sees things -- whenever I read her journal, I always get something to think about, some new way of thinking about something. I find that very useful to my little NF soul.

willow-rain is simply cool -- if you like my journal, I'm pretty sure you'll like hers. Give it a read... and see for yourself how she rocks.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 1 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here