Friday, Dec. 03, 2004 | 8:21 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Fading In

So this Wish List Santa thing has been very fun. I've been visiting wish lists and sending out gifts... I have a few here at home that I need to package and ship. It's been so much fun, but especially fun reading the reactions of people who've received their gifts. Truly it is better to give than to receive -- I'm not being trite. I am getting a great deal of joy just knowing you're enjoying your gifts.

Speaking of joy, I got to talk to an old friend day before yesterday. K helped deliver Jasmine -- she was literally holding my leg when Jasmine was born -- and I hadn't been able to track her down and let her know about Jasmine's death. I finally found her and was surprised that she recognized my voice right away. It's been about five years since we last spoke. No falling out, just lost touch. The thing about K is, no matter how long it is between our talks, it's always like it was just yesterday. Some friendships are just like that. Oh, things have changed for both of us, obviously, but the bond is still there.

I tracked her down for two reasons -- one is that I had a dream about her last weekend, and the other is that she may have some video footage of Jasmine when she was about four months old. Well, and also because I always wonder how she's doing and to prove to myself that I'm still enough of a geek to track people down on the internet. She still lives in the smallish town in Northern California where Jasmine was born and I hope we get to visit her soon.

In my pre-Jasmine days, I used to do some semi-wild things, like partake of illegal drugs. Well, really, only one, and that would be marijuana. K and I used to get silly and then do parking lot ballet in the mall parking lot while waiting for Jeff to get off work. I'll never forget those giggling nights in the dark blue VW bug, making big swooping circuits of the empty parking lot under the light of the very-spherical moon. K was such a generous friend -- the kind who still writes handwritten letters and sends care packages, the kind who sees small and cool things that makes her think of a friend and then buys them. It's truly the thought with K, though the things that make her think are very cool most of the time. Must be that art history thang.

Jeez, I'm writing a "rocks" post without really meaning to. But it was good to hear her voice. I miss having her in my life. Isn't it funny how friends fade in and out like that? And somehow I've been very lucky this year to have those fade in and out friends firmly fade in. Thanks, Jas.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 0 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here