Monday, Dec. 06, 2004 | 8:22 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Sunday, Bloody Sunday

I can't believe the news today
Oh, I can't close my eyes
And make it go away
How long...
How long must we sing this song
How long, how long...
'cause tonight...we can be as one
Tonight...

Broken bottles under children's feet
Bodies strewn across the dead end street
But I won't heed the battle call
It puts my back up
Puts my back up against the wall

Chorus:
Sunday, Bloody Sunday
Sunday, Bloody Sunday

And the battle's just begun
There's many lost, but tell me who has won
The trench is dug within our hearts
And mothers, children, brothers, sisters
Torn apart

Chorus

How long...
How long must we sing this song
How long, how long...
'cause tonight...we can be as one
Tonight...tonight...

Chorus

Wipe the tears from your eyes
Wipe your tears away
Oh, wipe your tears away
Oh, wipe your tears away
(Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
Oh, wipe your blood shot eyes
(Sunday, Bloody Sunday)

Chorus

And it's true we are immune
When fact is fiction and TV reality
And today the millions cry
We eat and drink while tomorrow they die

(Sunday, Bloody Sunday)

The real battle just begun
To claim the victory Jesus won
On...

Chorus

I know I've been pretty light-hearted lately -- new company and all -- but I was listening to the radio on Sunday while driving home from Tucson, and "Sunday, Bloody Sunday" came on. I know the words by heart; twenty-some years ago I fell in love with U2 over that song and started regarding religion more deeply because of it. I know what the song is about, but I teared up on Sunday (ironically, no?) because we haven't figured it out yet. The song was written about a different act of desperation, but the poignancy of its application today was almost too much to bear. Haven't we figured it out yet? Will we ever?

The more the implications of the last election sink in, the more I see Bush starting to make use of his "mandate," the more convoluted the situation in Iraq becomes, the more depressed I am about the direction of this country. I can't get this quote out of my head:

When Hitler attacked the Jews I was not a Jew, therefore I was not concerned. And when Hitler attacked the Catholics, I was not a Catholic, and therefore, I was not concerned. And when Hitler attacked the unions and the industrialists, I was not a member of the unions and I was not concerned. Then Hitler attacked me and the Protestant church -- and there was nobody left to be concerned. -Martin Niemoller (as printed in The Congressional Record, October 14, 1968)

So many Americans think it's okay that Bush is in the White House because he's "a man of God." It's a slippery slope you're on, people. Slicker than duck shit. Just because your group's identity hasn't been attacked yet doesn't mean the precedence for it to be attacked isn't being set. The Constitution is only as strong as the people legislating, interpreting and executing it, and those people are not currently on the side of your freedoms. Not really.

Wake up, America. Wake the fuck up.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 11 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here