Friday, Dec. 10, 2004 | 9:35 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

The Reason for the Season

I have decreed that today will be a day of busy-ness. The house really needs a good, thorough cleaning before the Solstice arrives and my sanity departs, and there are Solstice cards to get out. I may also pay some bills and get a little more Solstice shopping in before my meeting tonight with Deeda (long overdue, I might add!).

I picked out three designs for varying degrees of Pagan tolerance, but my favorite shows an old wood cut of the sun looking down over a snowy village and saying, "Contrary to popular opinion, I'm the reason for your holiday season." The back of the card says, "December 25, by the Julian Calendar, was the winter solstice. This day, originally regarded by the Pagans as the day of the nativity of the sun -- the shortest day of the year, when the light began its conquering battle against the darkness -- has been celebrated universally throughout human history.

Even being adopted by Christians as a day on which to celebrate the birthday of Jesus, this ancient holiday, set by motions of celestial bodies, survives as a day of rejoicing that good will and love will have a perpetual rebirth in the minds of all people -- even as the sun has a symbolic rebirth yearly."

My next favorite looks like this:

And has a quote from Diane Ackerman: "...I swear I will not dishonor my soul with hatred, but offer myself humbly as a guardian of nature, as a healer of misery, as a messenger of wonder, as an architect of peace..."

So anyway, if I don't already have your address and you would like a card, please email me your address.

And without further ado, I must go back to cleaning and disinfecting. This house sounds like a hospital ward right now, so it might as well smell like one. (Lots o' sick family members)

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 6 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here