Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005 | 11:24 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Is Miss Nina Really Jesus?

Nina bullied me today. What's that? You ask how an almost-two-year-old could bully a giant mom like me? Well let me tell you...

We went to the Nirvana Gym today, aka Life Time Fitness. I cannot stress enough the luxury of this place compared to what we had before. It's like we moved up from the seedy apartment in the sketchy part of town to the flat overlooking Central Park in the springtime. It's like eating filet mignon after a lifetime of thinking hamburgers were the height of cuisine. For you vegetarian readers? It's like good basmati rice compared to Minute Rice. Yes, it's that much better.

One thing that makes it that much better is the large indoor pool that has slides for the older kids and the zero depth play area for little guys -- heated to a comfy 84 degrees and staffed by very vigilant lifeguards, one of whom had pink and purple tipped hair. Impressive. Anyway, the whole family went to the gym with Deeda's family, with the idea that the grown-ups would get in a work out and then pick up the kids and play in the pool. Last time we went to a pool (which was last summer), Nina was tentative about the water. Not this time. This time she barged in like she had gills, which would be fine except that she doesn't and can't even hold her breath under water. That didn't stop Nina though. In fact, there was one area where she could climb out on her own. It was about 2 ft. deep there, sloping towards 2 1/2. No biggie, except that she thought she could just walk right back in at that depth. No surprise that a child of mine thinks she is Jesus reincarnated. I learned to move quickly.

For the most part, the water was shallow enough that I could just sort of trail around behind her, crawling along the pool like some overgrown lobster. It was fine and dandy until she discovered the joy of splashing mom -- right in the face! She belly laughed every time she did it, which of course made me laugh, so I couldn't stop her. Not to be unfair, she also liked being splashed by others, so it wasn't really bullying, I guess. Except that she splashed harder than me!

We were all tuckered out, came home and I ran a bath. Nina was so eager to reinvent the pool experience, she couldn't wait to get her clothes off. No really.

See? Note the full bath tub, the grin and the complete ensemble? The only thing she didn't have on were her shoes.

So all in all a good day. I am very much on recovery road, though my lungs are still wheezy and I wasn't quite back to full steam on the cardio machines. Aw well. It's a process, right? And the scale is still inching down. The rest of the turmoil in my life is lessening with excruciating slowness. Jeff has a job, barring some unforeseen result on his drug test or background screen. We're going to therapy and while it's still early, it seems like it will be helpful. The other community stuff that's been going on is almost done and then I can reflect on where I want to go with that. Midway through this month, I should be able to breathe.

On the knitting front, I think I may have found a group to meet with. I really need in person help, and since I missed out on my opportunity with MarshAster, I'll take what I can get. The group here is inspired by Stitch-n-Bitch Nation and thanks a BUNCH to luvabeans for suggesting it. It's one of my goals for next month to make it to their meeting. For this month, I've joined their email list and will post an intro soon. I have a project I want to have done by the end of June, so I'm a little pressed!

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 8 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here