Wednesday, Mar. 16, 2005 | 5:25 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Just A Bit More

Okay, so now? I feel like I've just been launched by a slingshot out of my life of luxury (okay, not really) and leisure (as much as a mom of a toddler can manage) back into the working world. Whee, what a ride! And just like on that ride I have a slight feeling of "Holy fuck, what was I thinking when I got on this thing? I liked life when I was walking and not hurtling towards the unknown!"

So it is front desk work and I am starting at part time. The department manager, hereafter known as K, told myself and the two other new hires that she was so excited to have us because we're older. Now my more mature side (the older side, if you will) knows that what she meant is, we will be able to lend an air of authority to a desk normally staffed by "chicks," as Deeda calls them. Young ladies ranging in age from sixteen up to, oh, I don't know, the ripe old age of 22 or so. I'm not sure I like repping the old people, but whatever. If 34 is considered "older," than I suppose I've earned every year of that designation.

Issues about my age aside, I like K. She's very nice and sort of wholesomely corny. Everyone I met today seemed genuinely nice and I sensed a stream of sarcastic humor pulsing in the back room and that's something I can tap into. Most employees are young, beautiful and nice to look at, so no worries there either. And I get all kinds of gym-related perks, so maybe I can be two out of those three soon enough. Apparently the young part is out of the question. ::grin::

The slingshot feeling comes from the fact that I start my orientation tomorrow and will continue to have a few hours in every few days until April, when I start actually working. I'm on the evening shift, and I think it may work out that Jeff and I won't need childcare for Nina right away, which is a good thing. I have a ninety day probationary period -- I'm not sure what will happen after that, but if I'm still loving the job, I'll be angling for full-time as soon as I can get it.

The belly dance recital went well -- it ran a little long, but my part was over relatively quickly, so I got to sit and watch. There were three or four really stand-out performances, not including the two I was involved with, of course. Our husbands assured us we were great, but that's kind of what they have to do, isn't it? If they want to get laid by the belly dancer? Anyway, I know the two I was involved with actually did go well and I only had one brief moment of "oh shit, I forgot my cue" and I'm pretty sure no one noticed. I did, however, sport the fierce don't-fuck-with-me look that I get when I'm really concentrating in the cabaret portion, so I probably looked like the scary belly dancer who would just as quickly whip you with a cane as dance with one. The tribal piece was both shorter and way less choreographically intense, so I smiled a bit there. Is choreographically a word? I don't know, but it is now. The warrior belly dancer says so. My favorite acts of the night included a sword dance, a husband and wife drum/dancer team and a couple of acts performed by some of the more experienced dancers in our tribal class. By the end, our girls were tired and a little bored and I was very glad Nina stayed with a sitter. She would have rioted.

Our weekend class was a success. It wasn't huge, but the majority of the attendees said it exceeded their expectations and that they were thrilled with the quality of the work. It was intense for them, and also for us teachers, and I do think that the next time we teach Elements -- perhaps this summer -- we will do the six week format. I am interested in talking with anyone who has taught the six week class, so if you have, let me know, please. I have questions for you. :: rubs hands together ::

Enough for now... much adjustment is descending on this house with all the employment and new schedules and so on, so I have to get to work. Laundry and dishes beckon.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 1 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here