Monday, Apr. 04, 2005 | 10:19 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

It'll Be In Sometime Next Week

This weekend was exactly what I needed, only not quite long enough. And maybe I would choose to do it without being sick, but other than that, it was fabulous. (Being sick also nixed the planned hike and so I have no pics to share -- sorry!)

On Thursday, I had two things to get on my way out of town -- a mehndi kit and a piece of jewelry with a Cretan labyrinth on it. Simple, right? Yeah. Except that it wasn't. Thalia (aka Deeda) and I went to the local pagan supply store (the very same one mentioned in this entry) and struck out. Not surprisingly. Undaunted, we went to the Whole Foods Market, where the woman behind the counter at first had no clue what we were asking for. Imagine a slightly aged hippie with head quirked like the RCA dog, parroting, "Mehndi?" When we clarified we were looking for henna for the body, she perked up (and so did we) and led us over to the aisle with henna products where we found... an empty slot. "But it'll be in sometime next week," she offered. No dice. We needed it right away. She suggested the co-op, the second person to do so.

I was hesitant to go to the co-op 'cause it's smack in the middle of college-town Tempe and I didn't want to fight with traffic (ha! talk about your foreshadowing), but we really wanted mehndi, so I braved it. We walked in, asked a younger hippie chick who disappeared into the back room for ages. Maybe she was trying to grow and dry the henna? I don't know. At any rate, she finally emerged empty-handed. No dice. "But it'll be in sometime next week," she offered helpfully. Haven't I heard that somewhere before?

We gave in gracefully (if somewhat grumpily) and headed out of town, only to find that for some bizarre reason on a Thursday afternoon traffic was hellish for about the first 75 miles of our trek. It took us at least two hours to ooze our way through and by that time, we were at least three hours behind schedule.

On the bright side, the whole ordeal was sans children, and remembering that fact perked me right up. Finally we got there, picked up Ivy (aka Kanvas) and went to the cabin, where we had a very packed, intense and rejuvenating weekend. I was pretty sick with this cold that only today seems to be letting up, but being sick with sisters to tend me is not a bad thing.

I didn't write much up there, though I did sit with my journal a few times, lamenting that I was so in the moment that I really had nothing to say, nor did I particularly want to "go there." I'm sure it'll be in sometime this week. You've been warned.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 2 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here