Friday, Apr. 08, 2005 | 8:34 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

What the Bleep Do I Know?

Welcome lady bug adventurers! You won't find any info about lady bugs here, but I hope you enjoy what you do find.

I started the second session of beginning belly dance last night and whoa, is this dance more complicated than the last! We have shimmies layered on top of taxims and Egyptian basics and shuffles and holy cow! Good thing we got the tape much earlier this time because I will have to practice every day between now and the end of this or I will NEVER get it. Shimmies are hard enough for me, but shimmies while moving? My body gets so confused. The mirror that Jeff was supposed to make last section is going to have to happen this time. I absolutely can't practice otherwise.

The cool thing (or sad, depending on your point-of-view) is that I was able to pick things up last night much easier than the first time around. We had to miss class last week because we were heading towards our retreat in the Hualapai Mountains, so I was very worried about missing that part of the choreography, but it was okay. I wore my fiery new pantaloons that I picked up at the Renaissance Faire a few weeks ago and they were awesome. Deeda/Thalia (I need to change her name in my cast to avoid this constant slashmark) has assured me that even I can figure out how to make a choli from a pattern. I have shared my copious skepticism, but she remains undaunted. We shall see. I have a feeling I may be calling on mom to step in for costuming duty -- think your wrist is up to it, Mom? We can talk about it this weekend...

After we finished learning part of the tribal piece last night, a flushed and smiling Thalia told Yasmina that it was fun. I thought about it for a minute and realized that my fun doesn't come until I have it down. Does that mean I'm uptight? I don't know. Mostly it probably just means I'm different. The fun comes, it's just much later. It'll be more fun still since I'm resolved to practice more this time. I'll post pictures of my mirrors when Jeff is done with them today. And maybe by the end of this session, I'll have lost enough weight to post pictures of me too.

Speaking of that, I didn't do an end of month update. I made my March goal, which means I get to schedule a massage. I'm not sure exactly how I did it because I really had a hard time with the last two weeks of the month. I can feel the resolve coming back, but for those two weeks, getting to the gym was harder -- I think I made it four or five times in the whole fourteen day period -- and I didn't do as well with my eating. But the bottom line is, I've lost 19 lbs. since I started this journey mid-January, so I can't complain. Most of my clothes are getting quite loose and by the end of this month, I will seriously have to consider getting a few new pairs of jeans. Go, me!

And speaking of that, I watched What the Bleep Do We Know night before last and that was a glorious mindfuck. But in a good way. (I know -- I'm always a year or two behind those "in the know" about these things.) The connection between these two topics, by the way, is a scene in the movie where the main dramatic character puts the work done by Masuru Emoto (The Hidden Messages in Water) with the water that is in our bodies and the negative effect of having our bodies. It was powerful to watch -- I (and many others) have been in front of that mirror hating my body and it was an awakening to think about the effect those thoughts have on the water molecules in my body... and my health. Actually, there was just a lot of great stuff to think about in general in that movie. It supported writing I've read by Witch authors about why ritual works -- the quantum physics of it all.

So anyway, not a single word about lady bugs. Sorry Google Friends. Remember to read what the page is about before clicking that link!

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 2 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here