Wednesday, May. 18, 2005 | 8:35 a.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

Found!

I can't remember if I wrote about not really liking the therapist and I were working with. I had some issues not related to our marriage that I wanted to work on, so I wrote to the local C.G. Jung society and asked for a list of local therapists working with his theories. When I got the list, there was a name on it that I thought I recognized as a therapist I saw several years ago before we moved to Illinois, so I called and made an appointment with her.

When I got to her office yesterday, I thought she must have moved. Then she walked into the waiting room and I knew she was not the same person. No problem, I'm game for trying out someone new... and then I walked into her office. On the walls? J.W. Waterhouse paintings on one wall... goddess figures on another... cultural masks on another. The fourth wall was occupied by a bookshelf -- and I always scan the bookshelves. Guess what kinds of books she had? Books on mythology -- more than a few of which also occupy my own bookshelves. Books on feminism and goddess worship, also more than a few of which also occupy my own shelves. Immediately I knew I was in the right place, regardless of whether she was the person I had worked with before or not. Funny how synchronicity works sometimes. (Funnier that my Mac is showing synchronicity as a bad spelling -- that's not a new word, wtf?)

Since it was the initial session, she asked me why I was there. So I launched into a roundabout story about Jasmine's death, about the need to write, about the blocks I've been dealing with. About fifteen minutes into my monologue she interrupted me to offer her first insight -- I'm trying to do way too much. Then she asked if I'd had any dreams that seemed significant after I made my appointment with her about a week prior. One stood out and I shared it -- she had some fabulous things to say about that, which is exactly why I was looking for a Jungian therapist. I wanted someone who could speak story to me, someone. I really got a lot out of the things she said about my dream, including a couple of perspectives I really hadn't seen before.

She said maybe the writing thing isn't either/or, and maybe my blocks around it aren't about whether I want to do it or not, but more about whether or not now is the time to try to do it full-time. Hm. You mean I don't have to everything RIGHT NOW? What a novel thought. I talked to her about my stress about going back to work and she came up with an idea that I'm checking out right now that is definitely a third road. But what I loved the most was the last fifteen minutes that we spent talking about my work with Dionysos and Ariadne -- she had books on her shelf relating to working with Dionysian energy! And she really got it -- that working with Them is a challenge, not all about the party, etc. And she had some insightful things to say about my conversation with Ariadne too.

I can't say how relieved I am to have found someone who not only knows something about my spiritual path and how it affects my life, but who really appreciates it. And who thinks dreams are important... and just generally speaks my language. Finally!

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 1 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here