Tuesday, May. 31, 2005 | 4:54 p.m.



Blogroll Me!

[ Registered ]

Marriage is love.
Current
Archives
Diaryland

About Me ...
Profile
Cast
125 Things
40 Things in 5 Years

Ways to Contact Me...
E-mail

Book
Notes

My Other Sites...
Dragonfly Wings
The Fire Spiral
Coolest of the Cool
bindyree
boxx9000
chailife
clarity25
dukkha-tanha
eggsaucted
elgan
elysium1982
greenwitch
harri3tspy
hissandtell
iceweasel
iwillsurvive
la-the-sage
life-my-way
wistful-blue
might-could
nazgul--girl
nikki-lish
pharseer
poolagirl
r-y-r
sapphyr
strangerlucy
thedetails
theflyingrat
thehour
tiffy524
trancejen
reese219
tuckandsophi
widower
wildforests
witchful
thirstywit
pissymystic

Still More Coolness

A Moment of Mom Indulgence

We got back to Mesa yesterday with a toddler who looked much like this:

Last night, she morphed into the Sleepless Monster and by this morning she was blowing spring-green shoestrings of snot out her nose every five minutes. Yay for the onset of summer sick days and the Toddler Who Catches Everything. I'm hoping we can avoid the urgent care experience this time, but thinking it may be unavoidable as she is already tugging at her ears. Did you hear that? It wasn't the wind. I was my sigh of resignation.

Her birthday was fun. This will probably be the last year we can buy presents without her knowing, when she is still completely enthralled with the fun of playing rather than the getting of gifts. We try to keep the focus where it belongs -- on the celebration of her birthday rather than on the things, but that isn't always easy. Seems grown-ups are the first to forget. She had a great day playing with her sister and her cousins and I had a day of reminiscing about May 29, 2003, when Jasmine was still alive, in the delivery room with me and receiving a lecture about remembering how much labor hurts when she's fifteen.

The weekend itself was somewhat exhausting and I'm still in recuperation mode, but I'm glad to say I'm 99.9% sure I have my childcare bases covered for both camps and I am HUGELY glad for that. Once I get confirmation on the October dates, I'm sending my registration to Tejas Web. I'm so excited!

Oh yes, and randomly... One of Nina's Big New Things is arranging things in an orderly fashion. Hence, I often find things like this in the middle of the floor:

Nina is compulsively arranging things in lines, neat. I don't dare pray that she will continue this order through her childhood, but I can dream.

Another fun thing? Parroting. Her newest fun thing to parrot? Remember that post awhile back about the finer points of cussing? (Yes, that sound was me sighing again.) Nina loves to say, "Oh shit!" Fortunately, her current favorite movie is Lilo & Stitch, so we can tell people (and ourselves) that she's really saying, "Oh Stitch!" Yeaaaaaahhhh.

Final bit of parenting news -- Gab tested into the advanced enrichment program at school. I'm so proud of her and also appreciate the news. Apparently Gab is some kind of absent-minded genius. All this time I just thought she was absent-minded. She starts next year. This, coupled with her newfound passion for karate makes this mom's heart glad. She'll be the dangerous type -- smart, beautiful and able to kick your ass. Doubt me? Take a look:

Hades might not win any prizes, but Gab will.

Previous | Next

Have something to say? So did 12 others!


Recent Entries ...
Go Here - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
Short, But Sad Good-bye - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005
Jasmine's Story ... Our Story - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
Ache - Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
Twists & Turns - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Who Links Here